Brandi Nelson

You know what will ruin your day? A bad Quality of Service Survey…

In Uncategorized on May 17, 2012 at 4:02 am

Generally I love seeing that a client has filled out a QSS (Quality Service Survey) after they have bought or sold a property with me and I can’t wait to read them. I’m very proud of the fact that I’ve earned the Quality Service award from Century 21 four years in a row. In 2008 I had a 91% Quality of Service rating, in 2009 & 2010 it was 97% and in 2011 it was 93%.

So last night I was excited to see two emails alerting me that two clients that had recently closed on properties had filled out a QSS. I quickly signed in to Century 21 and brought up the surveys. I opened the first one… a 41% rating? What? No! Must be something wrong…

My first reaction was  it must be wrong, then I got defensive. How could this be? I had done everything I could, the house sold quickly and for a good price, what on earth could they be upset about? So I decided it wasn’t my fault and I went on to read the other QSS which was highly complimentary and then I felt better. But not really because it just kept nagging at me, a 41% rating? And they didn’t plan to use me or Century 21 again or recommend us. Really? What had I done?

I finally went to sleep but it was the first thing I thought of this morning. I went over & over the transaction in my head… the house had sold for asking price within 7 days, the inspection had been a little tricky but we had come to an agreement I thought everyone was happy with and it closed quietly and without incident.

I guess the moral of this story is that what may seem normal to me in this crazy game we call real estate is probably a scary, confusing, complicated mess to the “normal” person. I obviously can’t fix what  has already been done but I’ve contacted the client and I’m going to try to learn from this and make sure it never, ever happens again.

Leave a Reply

